jump to navigation

Im so excited about Microsoft Vista, NOT! July 27, 2005

Posted by rjdohnert in Software reviews.
trackback

Another moronic editorial by Steven J. Vaughn-Nichols on eWeek. He loves to put down Microsoft Vista. By the way Steven, what is Microsoft Vista? There is no product called Microsoft Vista, there is no product codenamed Microsoft Vista anywhere in the deep dark offices of Microsoft as far as I know. Wait a sec, you must mean Microsoft Windows Vista. The beta version that was released today. how in touch are you with the technology industry when you cant even say the proper name of the release? Well folks here is my rude commentary for Vaughn-Nichols:

” For example, it’s going to have speech recognition! How cool is that!? Since IBM’s OS/2 Warp introduced that feature to operating systems in 1996, we haven’t had more than half-a-dozen new operating systems with voice recognition built in. ”

That was also released about a year early with Lotus Smartsuite for Windows. OS/2 was not the first, no Linux distribution on the market has it today in fact the only OS that has speech recognition is Mac OS X that is, built in.

” Better still, it’s going to include a new DRM (digital rights
management system) —Microsoft’s RMS (Rights Management Services)
client. That way I know when I buy music or videos off the Web, I know
Microsoft will make sure that I can’t illegally back it up or put it on
an iPod or anything else like that. It’s so nice of them to make sure I
can only use the files that I bought on real Vista systems.”

If you dont like it then by all means use another application to back-up your media and videos that you buy off of someone else. I have no idea how the final RMS client will work out but Im sure it wont affect iTunes or its capabilities. Dont buy protected WMA files. Im sure people will find a way around it.

” There’s also this spiffy driver protection plan.
With it, I know that any equipment I buy has to come from a vendor who
has made a deal with Microsoft. I certainly wouldn’t want to buy a
network or graphics card from someone who doesn’t have a contract with
Microsoft.”

This will only work with problematic drivers and probably more than likely older drivers that the company who made it went into oblivion more than a decade ago and who will no longer be releasing any updates. What would you rather have, drivers that crash a system every 3 seconds (like those hacked together drivers for Linux) or stability. Would you like for Microsoft to not include this feature so you can bitch later that MS Windows Vista sucks? Im sure Microsoft would not be stupid enough to use the feature for extortion. If they are then I will apologize later. BTW as hard as the DOJ is scrutinizing Windows Vista development, do you think Microsoft would do anything to raise any eyebrows.

” Vista’s also going to have lightning fast search. Boy, I can’t wait for
that. Just think in just more than a year, or maybe two, I can have
that instead of having to use Mac OS Tiger’s Spotlight or SUSE Linux’s
Beagle or Google Desktop Search on Windows. It will be worth the wait!”

You can have that feature now with MSN toolbar With Windows Desktop Search or Copernic Desktop Search, which are better than Spotlight, that actually work like they are supposed to and are actually stable compared to Beagle. That do not represent the privacy nightmare that is Google Desktop Search,( By the way the last time I tried GDS every time I did a search it uses about 72% of my resources. I have WDS set to prioitize indexing and it has never used 72% of my resources) Buy a Mac if you want Spotlight, compile beagle if you so wish for Linux.

” It’s also going to have this spiffy new file system called WinFS (Windows File System)… oh wait, that was canned last year. At least Linux doesn’t have a new file system either. Well, except for Reiser4, and so what if it may be the fastest desktop file system ever.”

Obviously you dont pay attention to the news, WinFS is going to be late not canned (once again if I am wrong I will apologize) and I would explain the fundamentals of what makes WinFS more than just a “filesystem” fully to you what it is but Im afraid I would go over your head and since you dont comprehend Microsofts description than hope may be a little late for you. If you are nice and ask for it, Im sure one of the developers would be nice to you and put together a nice PDF for you with lots of pictures

” I mean if you’re talking Linux, you’re also talking command lines and shell programming and with Monad, its new object-oriented shell programming, Microsoft shows that it can do a command line even better than… oh wait. That was cancelled too, wasn’t it?”

Nope not cancelled at all.

” Well, at least Vista is based on the newest and greatest application development platform ever! .Net Framework! What? Oh, it’s not? ”

And if you expect Microsoft to replace everything with .NET than you are just being ridiculous. Sun hasnt changed anything in Solaris so its totally built on Java and Apple doesnt change anything in Mac OS X so that its based totally on Objective C. .NET will be integrated into the platform which is on par with what everyone else does.

” Vista is also going to be the fastest Windows ever. Of course, you’ll
need a really fast—say 3GHz or better—processor, 512MBs of RAM, and a
high-end graphics processor, but hey, you’ll only need to upgrade, say,
90 percent of your company’s computers. You can afford that? ”

Nope, you only need a 1ghz and 256 mb of RAM to run it, but if you want the fancy frills and whistles then you need the speedier hardware. But admins, such as myself (you know the ones who actually work in the field and dont waste our times writing shitty editorials, acting like we know what will fix the entire software industry and IT industry) dont like fancy frills and whistles. My secretary is not going to be playing DOOM at work or creating massive creative projects so Vista would go nicely on her 1 ghz with 768 MB of RAM. How do i know? I used a configuration that matches hers as one test machine for 5048, the only difference is her machines a Dell the one I tested was an IBM and it ran alright.

” I mean you wouldn’t want to upgrade to say SUSE Linux Professional 9.3, Red Hat’s Fedora Core 4 or Debian 3.1, which can already do everything Vista will do tomorrow on less expensive hardware for less money today would you? ”

Nope, because I have better things to do than recompile device drivers, recompile kernels and become an endless fricking beta tester being forced into an upgrade because I have the hope and dream the newer version supports an unsupported device and has a feature that will make it more Windows or Mac like. To say any Linux distribution has the same features as Windows Vista now, then my friend you have just blown every last bit of credibility you had with me, Wheres the Linux Avalon, where is the Linux indigo, where is your object based command shell? Wait, it doesnt exist. What a shame. At least we have betas today, the only thing you have are hopes that Miguel De Icaza and his crew can peice together an Open Source implementation of Microsofts framework that will give you those capabilities.

SIDENOTE: No disrespect intended to Miguel or his crew. I do share great admiration for his work..

Comments»

1. Anonymous - July 29, 2005

That was also released about a year early with Lotus Smartsuite for Windows. OS/2 was not the first.

Nice comparision between an OS and an application… DOH!

If you dont like it then by all means use another application to back-up your media and videos that you buy off of someone else.

Won’t help when the OS decides what you can and can’t do, what you can and can’t run. DRM = digital restriction management.
AKA restrictions placed on YOU the consumer. Not rights!

Driver plan does = payoffs for drivers, next

You can have that feature now with MSN toolbar With Windows Desktop Search

I’d be more worried what MS is watching on your system then google or yahoo.
Funny how fastfind and the search in 2k using an index and indexes everything by default. Pretty easy for MS to download that during one of those so called updates. Windows = spyware, next

Obviously you dont pay attention to the news, WinFS is going to be late not canned (once again if I am wrong I will apologize)

I can have that now on linux. Why wait a year!

And if you expect Microsoft to replace everything with .NET than you are just being ridiculous.

Can’t read the writing on the wall. Microsoft wants you to pay to use everything off their servers. You don’t pay you don’t access your documents. Plain and simple. The OS will be a networked service in the future. Get with the program and see MS for what they really are!

Nope, you only need a 1ghz and 256 mb of RAM to run it

And linux will still blow the doors off of this OS on the same hardware!

Nope, because I have better things to do than recompile device drivers, recompile kernels

I haven’t had to compile a kernel in years. Obviously you haven’t tried the latest versions. Don’t comment on what you don’t know about.

peice together an Open Source implementation of Microsofts framework that will give you those capabilities

Why the hell would anyone want to duplicate the idiocy that MS calls and OS.
BTW the 3d gui is available on linux now.

Only now is IE getting to where it can run as a user and not the admin by default.
Let’s see…. linux that was 1996…. Man MS is way behind the times….

2. Anonymous - July 29, 2005

Speech recognition is available for linux. XVoice, for instance, works quite well. Most distros don’t include it because it relies on the freely-available but not freely-redistributable ViaVoice SDK from IBM.

Nice response to DRM, by the way. “Oh teh cr4x0rz will fix it 4 me!” You really have no sense of ethics at all, do you?

3. Anonymous - July 30, 2005

“…the ones who actually work in the field and dont waste our times writing shitty editorials,…”

haha,.. is this a pun at yourself? what do you call this article!

I personally prefer to have control and bend my OS to my will. Linux users control Linux, while M$ Windows controls its Windows users.

I can’t wait till Microsoft Windows Jail Cell version 2, with digital handcuffs and omni-cam. :p

cheers, enjoy your new OS

4. Roberto J. Dohnert - July 30, 2005

” haha,.. is this a pun at yourself? what do you call this article!”

I call it my own personal thoughts on the issue and as the old saying goes, Opinions are like assholes, everyone has one.

” I personally prefer to have control and bend my OS to my will. Linux users control Linux, while M$ Windows controls its Windows users.”

And thats your right and your opinion, read last statement.

” I can’t wait till Microsoft Windows Jail Cell version 2, with digital handcuffs and omni-cam. :p”

You know what this whole DRM argument reminds me of? Someone at Channel9 reminded me of it today. When the Whistler Beta came out FUD slinger claimed that Microsoft would put it in their OS that you couldnt play MP3’s and or rip CD’s to your hard drive. They were wrong then, and I think they are wrong now. My advice, wait and see.

” cheers, enjoy your new OS ”

I will thank you.

5. Roberto J. Dohnert - July 30, 2005

” Nice response to DRM, by the way. “Oh teh cr4x0rz will fix it 4 me!” You really have no sense of ethics at all, do you? ”

I wasnt taliking bout crackers. i was refering to Apple and Real.

6. Anonymous - August 1, 2005

The parts of this whole conversation (in the industry not just this blog), that drive me the most nuts, are people who are complaining about DRM. Microsoft is hardly going to make it so you cannot use iTunes and iPod’s. They are not going to create a situation where they create a larger marketspace for their competition.

The majority of people who complain about DRM are those who the market are trying to target. The thieves who steal software, music, movies and other digital content that make up the livelihood of hundreds of thousands of people in various industries who are at risk of losing their jobs because you can’t be bothered to pay for something that does not belong to you.

As far as MS stealing information off of your desktop and reading the information, DRM actually protects this from happening. By including DRM on the hardware/software/content, only those *you* include are able to access said content… and if you believe differently, then learn more about DRM and how it works, even TPM 1.1 allows for this to occur. And frankly, MS does not give a crap about what you have on your computer, to think any differently is arrogance.

7. just some dude - August 1, 2005

Compiling kernels and drivers is not required.

Honestly… honestly, dude. If you’d like to
do your own comparison or a rebuttal to a
comparison on “Windows Vista vs any Linux,”
then you should have some current experience with both.

It’s difficult to talk about “linux” and have a TRUE statement refer to all of the distributions available. In most linux distributions, the compiling of nothing is required. You don’t even need to install GCC (a C compiler) to have full functionality. The ‘beauty,’ as some would argue is that you have the OPPORTUNITY to install the compiler and tools, and source code to this and that and modify until your heart’s content.

Again… compiling is not required for dekstop linux OS. Need a free example?

SUSE Linux Professional v9.3

RedHat has their offerings, RHEL WS and RedHat Desktop.

8. ArielMT - August 1, 2005

I believe you have missed the article’s point: Windows Vista Beta 1 is litte more than an overburdened Windows XP, a Service Pack 3 if you will.

Most of the innovative technologies promised for Longhorn (now Vista) have been dropped, and all that remain are clones of features that Windows XP, the competition, or both already have (and usually in better forms), or features (annoyances, really) that will be a hinderance to all that they promise to help.

Whether you have missed the point conveniently or not, I can’t say.

By the way, please do try out Microsoft’s home desktop competition: Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Linspire, and Mepis (the one I’m presently on), among a growing legion of other distributions. Linux.org and DistroWatch.com are two great places to start. See the truth for yourself, that Linux already has today — even for the novice or luddite — what Microsoft can still only promise for next time.

9. Anonymous - August 2, 2005

“Nope, because I have better things to do than recompile device drivers, recompile kernels and become an endless fricking beta tester being forced into an upgrade because I have the hope and dream the newer version supports an unsupported device and has a feature that will make it more Windows or Mac like. To say any Linux distribution has the same features as Windows Vista now, then my friend you have just blown every last bit of credibility you had with me, Wheres the Linux Avalon, where is the Linux indigo, where is your object based command shell?”

Well, they said this article would debunk the whole story, I don’t see it. It just confirms it. Strangely enough I’ve never recompiled device driver nor kernels. Too chicken and I’ve got better things to do. FYI: I do not need eye-candy like Avalon, nor frills like (non-working) speech recognition. I do not need OO shell programming either, since I’m quite capable to type faster than I drag.

What I do need is a stable and capable OS that doesn’t freeze up for no appearent reason every half an hour for 20 secs or blows up when you use it for three months at a stretch. Neither do I want to reinstall it (it dies when the H/W dies) or add all those spy-, virus- and other goodies.

Linux gave me my computer back. It boosts my productivity for at least 50% compared to this “other” OS. Not because it adds much, but simply because it works the way an OS should work. Linux allows me to forget I even got an OS.

Linux is compared to Windows a handsaw that plain works. Windows is an electric saw (but not a chain saw; that one actually has a good design) that jams all the time and doesn’t allow you to forget the mechanics all together and saw by hand anyway. With Windows you get tangled into fixing things all the way all the time, before you get any work done.

Don’t give me Avalon, give me something I can do some useful work with.

10. Anonymous - August 2, 2005

This blog hit the nail right on the head. It was also well put and quite frankly IMO very honest. Those that say you dont need to recompile drivers or kernels Im sorry to say you guys are the ones who need a wake up call. To get my wireless Adapter to work I need to compile drivers and I have still unsuccessfully been unable to get it to work, this includes the ndiswrapper. To get my RAID adapter to work I have to recompile my kernel with the appropriate drivers. The list is too long.

The usability of Linux and the ability of the open Source community to deliver are what keep me from using Linux.

Nice writeup by the way SJVN is nothing but a blowhard I cant think of anyone important who takes his advice.

11. Anonymous - August 9, 2005

“You know what this whole DRM argument reminds me of? Someone at Channel9 reminded me of it today. When the Whistler Beta came out FUD slinger claimed that Microsoft would put it in their OS that you couldnt play MP3’s and or rip CD’s to your hard drive. They were wrong then, and I think they are wrong now. My advice, wait and see.”

What you dont know is a partner company for the one I work for had his system trashed by the XP os. He is a video developer and MS thought all his “videos” the ones he created and owns, are illegal copies. Deleted them all and his os. He legally created them and owned them. The “OS” term used losely is what decided his was illegal. What right did the manufacturer of the OS have to determine what he legally created and owned???
This person is a video developer for the educational industry….

12. Anonymous - August 15, 2005

Most of the anti-MS trolls who whine dont fully understand the subjects they attemtpt to discuss – and they never will use any MS software, so you have to wonder why they even care to begin with.

I think its sad that much of the anti-MS community tends to discredit itself by lieing, spreading false negative-hype, and just being loud when they dont truely unders the facts. I do respect though those who actually KNOW what they are talkinga bout and bring up logicla reasons why they dont choose MS, but they dont get all emotional about it. Amazing, its called intellect and maturuty – some of you should try it sometime. OH well, time for me to get back to my XP OS and all of its huge library of software – I really hate having an OS that has NEVER given Me a problem and has a world of varied software – cant imagine why 800MM+ people choose the same solution…

13. thevitaminkid - November 30, 2005

I’m an average consumer, with ssomewhat better than average knowledge about my computer. I’m not a geek. I’m still afraid of the registry.

There are two sides to this story, but I can’t say that you have really debunked all the points you tackled. All my computers now have Windows OS, but as I have watched the evolution of Windows from 3.11 through XP, I have noticed many things improved, and many things that I really don’t like. Overall, I’m not sure the improvements outweigh the disadvantages. XP never crashes on me, but on the other hand, to simply turn off autorun on the disc drives requires going into the registry, which an average user might do only with much trepidation.

Really, if what you’ve written is the best that can be offered in defense of MS, I will certainly avoid the new OS as long as possible. I very much like the idea of controlling my own computer, and it seems MS has been progressively trying to make it more difficult for me to do so. Sometimes the little annoyances are telling — every thirty days I am asked to upgrade my Media Player 8.0. I do not want to ever upgrade this, because it works the way I want it to, and I’m not confident that the revision will not contain something I don’t like, or maybe won’t sound as good. But I can’t turn off the update reminder. I fear some day I will accidently hit “Enter” and trigger the update I don’t want.

Thus Linux, despite its problems, begins to look more tempting. Also, with a country like Brazil embracing Linux as a matter of government policy, I think Linux will be much improved in a few years, as soon as their improvements are translated into English. LOL.

Basically, what you have done with your weak rebuttal is confirm that I should start seriously considering an alternative OS. So thank you very much for your input. I think you have had an effect, just not the one you intended.

14. Anonymous - December 22, 2005

The important fundamental question here in my opinion all comes down to security and presentation.

Mainly security, what is Security? Is it not being able to determine what should and should not be allowed in your pc?

This is a huge problem still today. As many machines, including the one i’m on, in some way or another is allowing information in/out that I might not approve of.

Can Windows itself be a security violation? Can features exist that I do not want in my system? Maybe I might want to change this policy on the fly?

For example, maybe from 9am till 12pm you want to open your doors wide open for customers, but when no one is around you’d like them closed.

Well why can’t a user be able to drag and drop and disable/enable anything that isn’t sitting below the security agent? (AKA Kernel level stuff, hardware devices(to some extent, should be able to disable/enable these too pretty easily).

I’d like to see less things forced on consumers/users and more customization.


Leave a Reply

