jump to navigation

What does Windows Vista mean to me September 17, 2005

Posted by rjdohnert in Software reviews.
trackback

What does Windows Vista mean to me.  Well to me it seems that Windows Vista is the light at a long tunnel.  For years I have had to fight Windows security problems, Microsoft’s broken promises as well as the outside punks and dickheads who have nothing better to do than to cause problems and headaches.  Luckily most of the time I was ahead of em so I was more diligent.  I was using security practices that Microsoft’s security teams are now starting to preach.  But now Windows Vista is within our grasp.  Its not vaporware, it doesn’t look like another over ambitious project.  The new security models are great, usability, reliability look vastly improved.  Its in Beta while yes, betas are typically slow I find this beta to be better than most others I have participated in (Mac OS X Public Beta –Ungodly slow, you could go make breakfast, take a shower, and eat breakfast and it would just about be done loading.  The final release was a lot better. 10.2 was actually the first major stable release).  Vista is not just another pretty face but it appears to be the first major release since Windows 2000 that I can call great.  It wont be a UNIX or Linux killer, but it will be the release that Microsoft can truly be proud of.  To all the nay Sayers, you can have your opinion but that doesn’t mean that I have to agree with it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

