jump to navigation

Fun with Virtual Server R2 April 5, 2006

Posted by rjdohnert in Software reviews.
trackback

As many people know already Microsoft has released Virtual Server 2005 R2 as a freeware type application.  I managed through a slow download, might be interesting to know how many times it has been downloaded.  And I have been using it to test different distributions of Linux and other OS's.  Its very fast.  Faster than VMWare GSX Server.  So far I have installed eComStation, BeOS, Ubuntu, DR-DOS, Novell SUSE 10, Fedora Core 5 and FreeBSD 6. I was even able to compile NTSH and some of the NTSH Toolkit on eComStation, I may release it later on when I have the full toolsuite ported.  Performance wise I have been able to load two virtual machines at one time and still maintain good performance.  When I try to open that third it slows it down.  Anyway, thank you Microsoft.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

