jump to navigation

Copernic 1.7 and 2.0 Beta April 9, 2006

Posted by rjdohnert in Tech News.
trackback

The boys and girls over at Copernic have been busy.  First they released a new version of Copernic version 1.7.  It has a revised search bar for Explorer and now comes with Group Policy management.  These are some of the features I have been looking forward to.  The biggest enhancement is version 2.0 beta.  I have been testing version 2.0 and when its finally released, the other desktop search guys might as well hang it up.  Its got so many new features and enhancements it completely blows away every other desktop search tool on the market.  Its a better desktop search tool on Windows XP/2000 than Windows Vista’s integrated search.  For those of you that want a desktop search tool that beats or rivals even Mac OS X’s spotlight, Copernic is for you.  In addition now Copernic will allow you to rebrand Copernic to include your own brand.  Meaning you can add your company logo or credits to Copernic Desktop Search similar to what AOL does.

It will be exciting to see what comes next.

Comments»

1. Cams Campbell - October 31, 2006

I just upgraded from 1.7 to 2.0 (which is now out of Beta) and loved it. That was up until is began hogging resources and causing my XP Pro SP2 system to freeze. I’m using 2 gigs of RAM and the CPU is at 2.5GHz. I tried uninstalling, reinstalling, same problem. It’s just a shame as I really love the product. I found this post through a Google search for v1.7 as I want to revert back and never kept the installer. D’oh!

2. Ork - November 15, 2006

I also upgraded my CDS from version 1.7 to the new 2.0 some time ago and I really like it but, some things, are not working so fine, especially the way the index is kept updated. I’m a heavy Corporate Outlook user and have thousands of emails stored in personal folders and, with 2.0, I noted than when I move emails from my “Sent Items” to a pst called zSent 2006, CDS index is not updated on a reasonable time. I don’t know exactly when it does it, but what happens is that, in many cases, I end up not finding things I’m sure it should be there.

I also didn’t like that new CDS message “Indexing..” that says nothing. I don’t remember this message in version 1.7.

On other cases, it says “Indexing will resume after 10 seconds of idle time”, you wait for the 10 seconds, and it changes to message to “Idle”. It’s like it thought it had something to index than it found out that it had nothing, or it is waiting for another better time to do it.

Talked already to the support but no valued information came from them.

Let me know what you think about it.

Ork

3. Dave - November 15, 2006

I’m having the same problems as Cams Campbell and am also looking for the Copernic Desktop Search v1.7 install file. If anybody can tell me where I can get it, I’d appreciate it. Thanks.

Dave

4. clay - November 19, 2006
5. design principle - February 22, 2007

design principle

design principle start page

6. Charles Garlick - April 13, 2007

As I am a new user to CDS, of which I happen to find while watching Steve Dotto from Vancover, BC, Canada. Upon working with his advise, I downloaded the latest v2.x and installed it on my Windows Vista Premium machine, I found it to be a very good working tool, however, this did not come with a cost…???… as I was conducting the indexing of my computer, my taskbar started playing a whole mess of games on me, so I have to disable CDS while I am working.

My machine is an HP Pavillon dv9205 notebook with a 1.6 g Duel Core Processor, 238 mg Nvidia Video Graphics Card and 1g RAM.

I would sure like to see a newer, but a better version that will function with Windows Vista Premium.

7. gay teen tgp - June 7, 2007

gay teen tgp

ka-ka-sh-ka 2866281 –>gay teen tgp

8. free anal double fisting - June 7, 2007

free anal double fisting

ka-ka-sh-ka 2866281 Good information source for free anal double fisting.


Leave a Reply

