jump to navigation

Open Letter to Lenovo August 5, 2006

Posted by rjdohnert in Opinions.
trackback

To:  Whom it may concern

Subject:  Novell support on Lenovo systems
It has come to my attention that Lenovo intends to preload Novell SUSE Linux preloaded on one class of your ThinkPad series.  I have been an IBM customer for many years and even recently Lenovo.  What concerns me is not Linux.  I am a user of Linux.  Novell has increasingly taken to not listening to customer demands and has banned proprietary modules from being used in its product thus putting a stranglehold on its user base and using its product more of a politically biased platform.  I am suggesting that Lenovo look at fully supporting a alternative Linux distribution as well as SUSE Linux.  Xandros, PCLinuxOS, or Mandriva are easy to use and capable Linux distributions targetted to a wide variety of your customer base.  Unless I see full support for an alternative Linux distribution other than Novell consider my recent purchase of Lenovo equipment, May 2006,  my last.  I do not support a company that considers political fencing such as Novell over customer satisfaction and I do not support Partners of any company that does so.

Thank you for your time.

Roberto J. Dohnert

Comments»

1. Paul - August 6, 2006

Good points RJ. I 100% agree with you and i will never download/buy another Novell product either.

2. Stacy Williams - August 6, 2006

I agree too. Im surprised more customers havent put their foot down but I think they need to try the other distros out there. Novell is definately not the users friend.

3. RussH - August 6, 2006

I can see the positive arguments from both sides but its Novells product, they have the most popular distribution in the world and it needs to be supported for it to work.


Leave a Reply

