jump to navigation

See ya around Vista and dumping Ubuntu 7.04 April 24, 2007

Posted by rjdohnert in Uncategorized.
trackback

I have pretty much quit using Vista and Ubuntu 7.04 after several hardware compatibility errors and software errors.  I decided to move back to Windows XP and 2000 Server. So why did I make this decision? Why earlier versions of Windows. Three words: compatibility, reliability and predictability.

Windows Vista was fine technically. I didnt have a bunch of issues with it but the issues I did have were indeed showstoppers. I rely heavily on some applications that just simply dont work with Windows Vista and the corresponding hardware wont work either and I am too cheap, or simply cant buy new hardware yet. On my main desktop an internal hardware device would cause Vista to bluescreen every couple of hours of use. Frustrating? Not the word.

Mobility simply on Windows Vista in a word sucks. My laptop while supported by Vista had some hardware issues that I just didnt want to have to muck with.  The first was my sound card. It works under Windows 2000 and Windows XP. After visiting Dells website and after talking to a support tech, I was told for the older Inspiron notebooks Dell wont be releasing updated drivers even if the machines can run Windows Vista. To make a long story short. The soundcard doesn’t work with Windows Vista easily. I have to disable my network card if I want to listen to audio and to connect to the web I then have to disable the soundcard for the network card to connect.

UWIN which I use for a third party client doesnt work on Windows vista nor does the hardware it has to interface with. Since I am basically her test bed, Vista was out of the question. Sure I probably could have used Vista, run the device and software under VM but whens the madness stop? Performance would also be an issue with that option. So back to Windows 2000 Server for that.

My stylus on my Tablet just wont work with Windows Vista either. Its frustrating because on one of the earlier Betas it did work fine once again they are working on fixing it, so its back to XP for that one until a fix becomes available.

So whats wrong with Ubuntu 7.04? simply put. 7.04 sucks. If this is supposed to be a Windows killer they have some major work to do. First, they include the crappy Prism54 driver which everyone knows is flawed and it wouldnt detect the 3 wireless USB adaptors or 1 PCMCIA card that I have. Blacklist it and use ndiswrapper right? Good plan. Some nimrod didnt include ndiswrapper on the install disk that has been included since version 4 so if you have no other alternative but a wireless connection you are SOL . Enabling the nvidia driver crashes 7.04 every time. My webcam was DOA with 7.04, one of my USB HUBS!!! Yes you heard it right HUB, H-U-B, the device you use to extend USB functionality by adding other USB devices, that works fine in eComStation/OS/2, BeOS and even Windows 98 will not work on 7.04. My Sony laptop has horizontal lines in 7.04 because of a faulty x-server driver, dont forget its supposed to be more laptop friendly. For me 7.04 is not a major step backwards its just a standstill with bugs. That laptop got Windows 2000 back and its never worked better.

Im sure the Windows and Ubuntu teams can fix the problems but for right now I need those three words: compatibility, reliability and predictability

Comments»

1. See ya around Vista and dumping Ubuntu 7.04 - Error - April 24, 2007

[…] See ya around Vista and dumping Ubuntu 7.04 I have pretty much quit using Vista and Ubuntu 7.04 after several hardware compatibility errors and software errors I decided to move back to Windows XP and 2000 Server. So why did I make this decision? Why earlier versions of Windows. Three words: compatibility, reliability and predictability. Windows Vista was fine technically. I didnt have a bunch of issues with it but the issues I did have were indeed showstoppers. I rely heavily on some applications that just simply dont work with Windows Vista and the corresponding hardware wont work either and I am too cheap, or simply cant buy new hardware yet. On my main desktop an internal hardware device would cause Vista to bluescreen every couple of hours of use. Frustrating? Not the word. Mobility simply on Windows Vista. My laptop while supported by Vista had some hardware issues that I just didnt want to have to muck with the first was my sound card. It works under Windows 2000 and Windows XP. After visiting Dells website and after talking to a support tech, I was told for the older Inspiron notebooks Dell wont be releasing updated drivers even if the machines can run Windows Vista. To make a long story short. the soundcard doesnt work with Windows Vista easily. I have to disable my network card if I want to listen to audio and to connect to the web I then have to disable the soundcard for the network card to connect. UWIN which I use for a third party client doesnt work on Windows vista nor does the hardware it has to interface with. Since I am basically her test bed, Vista was out of the question. Sure I probably could have used Vista, run the device and software under VM but whens the madness stop? Performance would also be an issue with that option. So back to Windows 2000 Server for that. My stylus on my Tablet just wont work with Windows Vista either. Its frustrating because on one of the earlier Betas it did work fine once again they are working on fixing it, so its back to XP for that one until a fix becomes available. So whats wrong with Ubuntu 7.04? simply put. 7.04 sucks. If this is supposed to be a Windows killer they have some major work to do. First, they include the crappy Prism54 driver which everyone knows is flawed and it wouldnt detect the 3 wireless USB adaptors or 1 PCMCIA card that I have. Blacklist it and use ndiswrapper right? Good plan. Some nimrod didnt include ndiswrapper on the install disk that has been included since version 4 so if you have no other alternative but a wireless connection you are SOL . Enabling the nvidia driver crashes 7.04 every time. My webcam was DOA with 7.04, one of my USB HUBS!!! Yes you heard it right HUB, H-U-B, the device you use to extend USB functionality by adding other USB devices, that works fine in eComStation/OS/2, BeOS and even Windows 98 will not work on 7.04. My Sony laptop has horizontal lines in 7.04 because of a faulty x-server driver, dont forget its supposed to be more laptop friendly. For me 7.04 is not a major step backwards. That laptop got Windows 2000 back and its never worked better. Im sure the Windows and Ubuntu teams can fix the problems but for right now I need those three words: compatibility, reliability and predictability site:See ya around Vista and dumping Ubuntu 7.04 The Tech Journal […]

2. Geoff - April 24, 2007

Have you tried PCLinuxOS? It (imho) runs rings around Ubuntu/Kubuntu as everything worked out of the box so to speak with my computer. My brother was also impressed with it when he installed PCLOS on an older computer. So give it a go.

3. Ngs - April 24, 2007

Yes, try and find PCLOS to download.

4. Michael Magua - April 24, 2007

I guess OEMs putting “Windows Vista Capable” stickers on hardware is just a hoax heh.

5. Aitch - April 24, 2007
6. Erik - April 25, 2007

Agreed. Ubuntu 7.04 is too flaky. Hopefully next LTS will be as good (and of course better) than Dapper which is nice OS.
I vote Fedora 7 though. Extremely good.

7. Phillip - April 25, 2007

That’s unfortunate that Ubuntu 7.04 didn’t work for you, as my experience has been so far that this is a great system. But I guess I got lucky in that my laptop’s hardware is supported. I think that Linux (any distro), if developers want it to go mainstream, needs to find a way to address the fact that there is an ENORMOUS amount of hardware out there. It seems that one of two things needs to happen.

Either:

1 – Make sure that at the very least ESSENTIAL hardware works (networking, keyboard/mouse, at least basic graphics). Then as soon as the system boots it should connect to their servers to download the needed drivers/modules. And certainly USB should work flawlessly — that one still baffles me.

and/or:

2 – Work with an OEM to sell preconfigured systems so that all these problems are worked out before the consumer uses it.

I still think Linux (whatever flavor you settle on) is worth a try, and even worth the effort that it takes to configure a working system.

8. jimmy hendrix - April 26, 2007

man, your whining sucks, too!
out of so many linux distros, you just couldn’t try one more…
i can advise you try more, as i am running Ubuntu Dapper on a Dell Inspiron laptop, and Fedora Core 6 on a desktop, both without any problems whatsoever.

9. Losers - April 28, 2007

I have to admit linux sucks ass. They need to stop forking a new distro after every minor change. Linux is a perfect case study of why open source does not work. Free software foundation, get a job!!

10. msandersen - April 29, 2007

There’s opensource and there’s opensource. There are brilliant projects, like Apache, PHP etc, all technical commandline-stuff they tend to be good at when united under one project with good leadership, and there are tons of mediocre or even bad ones. Building a good OS is a huge task; making it a good Desktop system moreso. FreeBSD etc are examples of good well-thought-out OS projects that is designed for a purpose and does it well. Projects like PC-BSD are interesting, and they have put somethough into converting it into a Desktop system, but the underlying System is still not designed for it. So far, Apple/NeXT is the only one to have put the planning effort and execution into making a proper Desktop system from Unix. It is a measure of their success that both Vista and Linux are examples of attempts to copy their features, no more evident than in Aero and Compiz/Beryl, but also in various other apps and features like indexed Search.
Gnu/Linux’s original goal was to make a free implementation of Unix, and that it does well overall. But the attempt to bolt on features to make it a Desktop system is half-hearted and a hodgepodge, frankly, because you have a myriad of subprojects who don’t communicate or coordinate with each other that are thrown together in Distributions to make one whole. Bolting on a Desktop Environment on a commandline-system doesn’t make an ideal Desktop system. Deep system-level changes need to be made for that, and no-one is attempting to do that. With FreeBSD you at least only have one system, not a hundred Distros that need its own software repository in a variety of formats.
It’s a pity GTK sucks so badly, though, I quite like Gnome as a DE. QT is far better, but is proprietary and I don’t care for KDE.

As a side note, I will get to test out Vista on Monday when my new computer arrives. I do have reservations of Vista compatibility and hardware requirements, but having to settle for a now-outdated system like XP with huge security issues doesn’t seem right. I may dual-boot with Ubuntu like my current PC. From reading and experience, I’ve determined a Debian-based distro with Gnome is best, so PCLinuxOS, SuSe and Fedora are out.

11. Paul - June 6, 2007

I couldn’t agree more with your assessment, and thanks so much for posting it – you made me feel better. I have returned after 6 years of faithful service to Windows 2K; I would purchase XP – would NEVER purchase VISTA – and have now tried 10 distros of Linux. As someone above said – Puppy seems to be the best of all of them and runs in RAM! The last (and worst) “experiment” was last week . . . when I found as you did that Ubuntu, Kubunt and unfortunately even Xubuntu (with the very cool xfce desktop, lean and mean!) – were ALL awful in detecting . . . yep . . . USB 2 stuff . . . despite my loading drivers from all over the planet.

The one benefit was I once and for all learned my way around Linux, and sudo, and terminal, and apt-get, and unpacking tarballs verbosely, etc . . . good grief. I know a few people dislike Mr. Gates, but I heard the angels sing when Windows 2000 (for the third time in a week) loaded back up and I restored my system. Oh . . . and I tried the “dual boot” thing 8 of the 10 times I’ve tried Linux – and I don’t recmmend that either. If your MBR isn’t hosed and you do NOT have to fix/reinstall Windows – you’ll find Windows starts up slower and so does Linux. Pick one or the other for my 2 cents.

Again – sorry you had trouble and if it’s any consolation I was in exactly the same place one week ago today. When Windows 2k is tweaked (fluff remeoved, a job done on the registry, certain “fixes,” etc) – it runs like a rocket – and hopefully I will be able to use it for some time. I will purchase XP before it “runs out” in January of 2008, and see where I am then and where Linux is at that time. Oddly enough, a year ago I was trying an earlier Ubuntu version (hedgehog/dapper?) – and it was fine and recognized everything. I think the USB2 problem is with 7.04, and for that reason perhaps some other distro (Fedora, perhaps) might be a better choice.

In any event I’m sticking with W2K professional and smiling! Best regards/ Paul

12. Purchase windows vista Download oem - February 5, 2008

Purchase windows vista Download oem

yes indeed…


Leave a Reply

