jump to navigation

Recovering from a catostrophic computer crash June 2, 2007

Posted by rjdohnert in Uncategorized.
trackback

I unfortunately this week, Monday, suffered from a serious hard drive crash.  I finally got the works up last night at 3 am.  Here was the adventure to getting the hard drive issue fixed.

Monday:  7:30 am – Checking e-mail when I noticed this strange noise coming from the main system.

9:30 am – Noticed the noise has gotten a lot worse and now the volume of the noise keeps raising then lowering, raising then lowering.

9:35 am – Sounds like a chainsaw now, Im finishing up on my KDE 4 review when I hear a snap and a pop.  Linux kernel panics.

9:36 am – I try to reboot it and when hard drive is found I cry

9:40 am – I kick the computer and curse at it

10:00 am – I apologize and set computer upright.

3:00 pm  I stop by Tiger direct to purchase new Hard Drive

7:00 pm – I put in the hard drive and turn on the system

7:05 pm – I put in the OpenSolaris disk and install OpenSolaris, I set up partitions to install Linux

9:00 pm – I put in PCLinuxOS disk and install PCLinuxOS

4:00 am – I go to bed

Tuesday:

8:00 am – I wake up

8:45 am – After a 5 shot Americano I boot the PC.

8:45:50 am – No Hard Drive found

9:00 am – Open case

9:01 am – Check jumpers and power supply, everything AOK

9:30 am – Drive to Tiger Direct outlet store

9:36 am – Wait to be helped

9:45 am – Still waiting

10:02 am – Am finally helped.

10:15 am – Get a new HD

1:00 pm – Go over to see my brother and stay with him for a few days to help him with some manual labor tasks

Friday:

4:00pm – Install new HD

5:00 pm – Put in PCLinuxOS disk and install

Saturday:

12:00 am –  Run backups on data.  everything but what I had done in recent days was on backup

1:00 am – Realizing all my website information and my KDE 4 review is gone .. I cry

4:00 am – Go to bed

10:00am – Wake up

10:02 am – Turn on PC .. IT STILL WORKS!!!

Comments»

1. kelly - August 18, 2007

I just wonder the wonders of science and technology how they have created such a miracle. You know why ? I’m so excited to share with you people . One day when we went to seashore to spent my holiday i brought my Laptop with me where i have stored all my important data since from a long time .Usually i carry it with me wherever i go. So what happen all of a sudden is a big tragedy come on my way. My laptop drawn in a water and at the end after trying hard with some others help i got my laptop back and when i checked next day when i reached my home i found all my data completely lost due to the water. Can you guys imagine how depressed i was and trying to find every possible solution to get it back but nothing works out. So finally i made up my mind to go Nehru Place ( New Delhi) where i heard that there is so many data recovery centre. Then i saw a HDRC and went straight there.
Thank god ! HDRC is a place which i never forget in my life coz it saved my life. They got all the quality software there . Services they gave to me was excellent. They gave me a time of five days and within five days i got my hard disk as it is. Everything was as normal as before. I felt so happy and i wish them all the luck to go ahead to help as many as they can. And the price too was very reasonable. Thank god and thank HDRC.

Note: if you guys face any problem regarding Data recovery hurry up to click http://www.hdrconline.com Your solution is right there !

Kelly


Leave a Reply

