jump to navigation

IBM Symphony: Music to the ears? September 19, 2007

Posted by rjdohnert in Opinions.
trackback

While I await the download, I figured I would comment on this.  This Office suite will tank I think.  How do I know this?  First, its based on the OpenOffice.org office suite.  While OpenOffice is not a bad suit, I sometimes comment its on the same level as Office XP, its still got a lot of faults in it.  Some functionality just isnt there thats in MS Office.  Second, its missing the one feature that most people look for, a good e-mail client.  OpenOffice isnt more popular because its missing the good collaboration tools such as outlook and calendaring that is available in Microsoft Office.  Sure you can piece together a solution but the winning point for Office is the integration and not some bubblegum and barbed wired solution.

 IBM Symphony like Novells OpenOffice.org derivative will have one thing in common.  They will both share the faults and inadequacies of the main OpenOffice.org tree and I feel it will show.

 Once the download finishes and I have had time to use it, I will either eat crow or bask in the glow of my superior intellect again that I managed to call it right down the middle.  One thing is for sure tho, Office 2007 will not be leaving my machine anytime soon.

Comments»

1. IBM Symphony: Music to the ears? - Noticias externas - September 19, 2007

[…] IBM Symphony: Music to the ears? "While I await the download, I figured I would comment on this.  This Office suite will tank I think.  How do I know this?  First, its based on the OpenOffice.org office suite.  While OpenOffice is not a bad suit, I sometimes comment its on the same level as Office XP, its still got a lot of faults in it.  Some functionality just isnt there thats in MS Office.  Second, its missing the one feature that most people look for, a good e-mail client.  OpenOffice isnt more popular because its missing the good collaboration tools such as outlook and calendaring that is available in Microsoft Office.  Sure you can piece together a solution but the winning point for Office is the integration and not some bubblegum and barbed wired solution."Read more here […]

2. Chris - September 19, 2007

Hi, you may not realize this, but I too have a blog now.
http://www.beercosoftware.com/blog/


Leave a Reply

