jump to navigation

Fed up with MP3 players September 22, 2007

Posted by rjdohnert in 1.
trackback

I have spent some good money on a variety of MP3 players.  Some had the cool factor, some were cool and one was the underdog.  Overall, I didnt like any of them.

I bought an iPod nano.  I liked it even though it lacked interoperability with the one music player I liked, Windows Media Player.  The thing kept crashing.  Spontaneous rebooting and sometimes even with iTunes my database would get screwed up and sometimes the iD3 tags would get screwed up.  For example, Far Behind by Candlebox would be labeled Mexican Radio by Walls of Voodoo.  Or Nickelbacks If Everyone Cared would be labeled as George Straits, I can still make Cheyenne.  screwey.  The thing is sitting in a drawer and I have yet to use it or pull it back out.

The Creative Zen was a better player.  Didnt crash, didnt reboot and didnt screw up the iD3 tags.  It drank battery power like a homeless guy guzzles wine.  After 2 or 3 hours it was dead.  Figuring something was screwed up I took it back to Best Buy and got it replaced.  The first day battery power was alright but after my 3rd PC sync to dump music on to it the battery power started lacking again.  After a week and a half it was dead and I returned it for my cash back.  Please note** My trusty Creative Zen V 1gb player still works Im referring to the larger player.

With my cash back I opted for the Sandisk e250.  Popular player next to the iPod and I can see why.  Sleek and sexy, the volume wheel lights up.  Whoo hoo.  I turned off the light a couple of times to watch in amazement the blue glow that made me feel I had something worth writing home to mama about.  Try loading more than 670 songs on it.  It will delete your music.  Untolerable.  Updated the firmware and still did it.  Took it back to Best Buy and found out it wasnt refreshing the database like it was supposed to.  Software glitches in MP3 players, gotta love em.   I gave it to my dad and he syncs Sinatra and country music to it.  Also, dont use this player with Windows Media Player.  Switch USBMode to MSC, dump your tunes to the Music folder and undock. 

The next purchase was the Zune.  Everyone hates it, dont have to worry about it being stolen.  It was actually one of the best ones.  Performance wise and everything it worked great.  1 exception, video is choppy.  Its heavy, feels clunky and clicks too much.  What it lacks for in elegance though it makes up in performance.  No rebooting no freezing, no losing tracks and its got a pretty good wireless features.  If Microsoft fixes the clunky feel the player has to it it may be a nice contender.

Overall, Im fed up with them all.  So what did I do?  I went back to using my 2gig Triple A battery powered MP3 player and I just recharge the batteries the old fashioned way, recharger to the wall.  No muss, no fuss and it works perfectly.

Sometimes bigger and more expensive doesnt mean better.

Comments»

1. Fed up with MP3 players - Noticias externas - September 22, 2007

[…] I bought an iPod nano.  I liked it even though it lacked interoperability with the one music player I liked, Windows Media Player.  The thing kept crashing.  Spontaneous rebooting and sometimes even with iTunes my database would get screwed up and sometimes the iD3 tags would get screwed up.  For example, Far Behind by Candlebox would be labeled Mexican Radio by Walls of Voodoo.  Or Nickelbacks If Everyone Cared would be labeled as George Straits, I can still make Cheyenne."Read more here […]

2. Ref - September 25, 2007

Want cheap music? Look at my Cheap Mp3 Sites review page!


Leave a Reply

