jump to navigation

Wrapping a distro February 21, 2008

Posted by rjdohnert in 1.
trackback

Well, Im closer to becoming a distribution. PC/OS is wrapping up for artwork and functionality. If you have been lucky enough to get a copy stay tuned. Im going to answer some questions here. What users I do have are all happy with the results thus far.

Why start your own distribution?

None of the distributions out there fit me. I would have to spend a couple of hours making the system fit.

Why XFCE and Xubuntu?

I decided not to double my work. I could utilize the Ubuntu system where the developers would provide the updates and kernel fixes and I wouldn’t have to spend what little free time debugging kernel code. I chose XFCE because its very modular. For the server system XFCE went on a diet and I removed everything that wasn’t necessary on a server system and added server specific tools. This could also appeal to other Windows Server and Netware users who want to use a GUI as well as command line tools. XFCE on a client desktop is a good desktop without the overhead of GNOME or KDE. Its got good basic tools and is very simple to modify.

Why the CDE look?

CDE while some may consider it ugly, CDE to me has always had that geek appeal to it. If you dont like CDE there are several themes to choose from and as I said XFCE is customizable in many ways. I’m still wrestling with what look I want.

What sets you apart from the rest and who is your audience?

My target audience are Windows admins and Netware admins who want a good distribution to play with and utilize very quickly or other admins who like me wanted something with all the basic tools and necessities all wrapped up without having to waste time. Users who want a very low learning curve and the ability to “jump right in”.  This will also appeal to Netware users whom like myself, don’t trust Novell  and don’t want to buy into the SUSE strategy.  Will my distribution appeal to the GNU purists? no, its not meant to. I will include Flash, Java and I will include proprietary codec support. I will support Mono.

What development platforms will be included?

Gambas, RealBASIC Standard and Monodevelop.

What will your distribution method be?

Downloads, CD and DVD sales as well as shipping on custom built PC’s. For my side business I already make custom PC configurations and Windows will still be available upon request. Unless otherwise requested PC/OS will be the default install.

When can we expect a beta?

Mid to end March, final version will be released about two weeks after Xubuntu 8.04 ships. I didnt do a public beta because I needed to control the feedback. Instead of screaming from all directions. I have had 3 home users who are using the system and about 12 Linux shops who have deployed it and numerous technical users.

Those are laughable numbers…

I didn’t start this expecting to have the installed base of Windows, Mac or even Linux.

Will commercial support be available?

Yes.

How will you support the community?

1 dollar from all CD sales, 2 dollars from ever DVD sale and 20 dollars from every system will be donated to the Xubuntu community, all contributed code with the exception of kernel code will be released under the BSD license.

When can we get more info?

When the website goes live.

How can I help?

Contribute space for the the ISO images and any user contributed artwork. Any coders who want to help, drop a line.

Comments»

1. ChrisA - February 21, 2008

What a stupid idea. You have nothing to offer thats not filled by the rest of the Ubuntu community. You are wasting your time and you most likely will not grow above the users you have now.

You are immature grow up.

2. Wrapping up a distro - Noticias externas - February 21, 2008

[…] I decided not to double my work. I could utilize the Ubuntu system where the developers would provide the updates and kernel fixes and I wouldn’t have to spend what little free time debugging kernel code. I chose XFCE because its very modular. For the server system XFCE went on a diet and I removed everything that wasn’t necessary on a server system and added server specific tools. This could also appeal to other Windows Server and Netware users who want to use a GUI as well as command line tools. XFCE on a client desktop is a good desktop without the overhead of GNOME or KDE. Its got good basic tools and is very simple to modify. read the rest Link […]

3. Erik - February 21, 2008

Hmmh, why should I choose your distro over upcoming Fedora 9 ?

4. rjdohnert - February 21, 2008

Less system overhead, no political motivations and a better user experience out of the box and no RPM hell and none of the screwiness of YUM management.

Use both, find the tool that works best and use it.

5. Erik - February 21, 2008

I will gladly try your distro. I don’t agree about your opinions about RPM/YUM though … :).

Any estimations when homepage/ISO will be ready and published?

6. Vincent - February 21, 2008

rjdohnert,

You do know there are distributions that include proprietary components right? Linux Mint is one such distribution.

Anyway, if your distribution adheres to all the security initiatives in Fedora then I’ll take a look. AppArmor MAC is not enough because SELinux isn’t the only security feature included in Fedora.

7. rjdohnert - February 24, 2008

AppArmor will be deployed on the desktop version and SELinux will be installed by default with the Server version, although not active. The reason for this is two fold, I dont know the environments the user will be using it in. But I will provide the tools and Im looking at the tools Fedora has for SELinux and will look at porting those over. If I see a need for SELinux on the desktop, I will go ahead and include it on the client version as well. Like I said before, you cant change years of missteps in a few months, any feedback he has I suggest he submits it.

As for Linux Mint it doesnt have that hand in glove feel like mine does. And Im not saying that as the developer, but as a user and I have heard that from several users.

8. rjdohnert - February 24, 2008

Erik contact me off list.


Leave a Reply

